The Queen of Subtleties: A Novel of Anne Boleyn by Suzannah Dunn

I am an acknowledged history buff, nerd, geek, whatever. The Tudor period is especially interesting to me. If I see a book about one of them, you can pretty much guarantee I’ll find a way to read it. Therefore, awaited this book with anticipation upon request at my local library! I wish I hadn’t bothered. It is poorly researched, and written in an extremely modern style wholly unsuited to the subject matter. For example, there is one point where Anne actually thinks “Skedaddle”! This is supposed to be sixteenth century England, not twenty-first century America!

The Lucy Cornwallis portions of this book were a bit easier to swallow, but were far from being a saving grace.

Avoid this book at all costs!

For a better read, try The Secret Diary of Anne Boleyn by Robyn Maxwell, which I greatly enjoyed. It, too, takes a liberal license with history, but, for, the most part, this made for a good story.

Rating:  1 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

