Nora Roberts and J.D. Robb: Circle and Born

The Circle Trilogy by Nora Roberts

After reading reviews of this new trilogy describing it as a bad imitation of Roberts’ previous Key Trilogy, I was rather lukewarm about it. I liked the Key Trilogy, don’t get me wrong, but I also like some originality.

Anyway, I went to the library, picked them up, went home, opened Morrigan’s Cross, and immediately regretted it. The story went nowhere and the characters, with two exceptions (Davey and Blair) were flat. In short, I was bored.

However, being a big fan of Ms. Roberts, I persevered and moved on to Dance of the Gods. My faith was rewarded. I loved it. The plot moved on at a nice pace, the characters came alive (with the exception of the hero and heroine of Morrigan’s Cross, both of whom remained flat), and I just adored Larkin, our hero, a shape shifter.

The last installment, Valley of Silence, was my favorite. Cian, the hero, and a vampire, was great, and his lady, Moira was wonderful, and, the best part for me, they had dragons!

So, grit your teeth and skim over Morrigan’s Cross to get the gist of the story, then savor Dance of the Gods and Valley of Silence.

Rating:  4 out of 5 stars (Morrigan’s Cross gets only 2)

Born in Death by J.D. Robb

Book 23 in the ongoing saga of Eve Dallas and Roarke, Born in Death has been much anticipated by Robb fans because of one thing, Mavis’s baby. It is worth it. I was laughing with the first page.

This book isn’t as edgy as others in the series, but very satisfying emotionally.

My favorites in the series: Portrait in Death, Reunion in Death, Divided in Death

Rating:  4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

