McKettrick Men Trilogy by Linda Lael Miller

McKettrick’s Luck

All thumb’s down.

The characters are all flat.  I did not like Jesse, and couldn’t make myself care about Cheyenne enough to decide whether I liked her or not.  The only interesting portion of the novel was the Mitch subplot, which was not used to best advantage.  I didn’t like the ending, it was too abrupt, and, really, resolved nothing.

I read this book a week or so ago, and I had to refer to the book to get the names of the characters as I write this.  That is how forgettable they are.

Rating:  1 out of 5 stars

McKettrick’s Pride

A huge improvement.

Wonderful, layered characters.  However, I thought that the relationship between Rance and his daughters could have been developed more, and, though I thought Rance’s grief for his sister was a nice touch, it, at times, felt like an afterthought.

I loved the subplot about the dog. I cried when her people finally came for her.

Rating:  3 out of 5 stars

McKettrick’s Heart

I’ve been looking forward to this since book one:  Keegan was the only character in the whole book I could work up emotion to like.

The characters were good, there was excellent emotional development, especially with Psyche, however, I thought that enough attention was not given to Keegan’s awakening.  I know Ms. Miller attempted this, and it probably worked for most people, but I wanted something more.

Frankly, I didn’t like the settlement with Devon’s mother.  Keegan’s a McKettrick, for God’s sake! He’s got money everywhere! Give the gold-digging bitch watch she deserves.

Anyway, skip McKettrick’s Luck, and savor Pride and Heart.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

