The Devil Who Tamed Her by Johanna Lindsey

Over the last decade, or so, Johanna Lindsey has scored more misses that hits. One of those rare hits was The Heir.  I loved that book, and have read it multiple times.  So, imagine my glee when I found out that Rafe and Ophelia were finally getting their own story!  Immediately, I put in a request at the library, and, amazingly, came in near the top.  I brought it home, and sat down to read, anticipating a wonderful read.

I was a bit disappointed with the bet plot, thinking it a bit overused, but, hey, gentlemen of that time bet on odder things.  The abduction was also rather, ho hum!  It is a common plot device for Ms. Lindsey.  However, I still enjoyed the characters, and their relationships and interactions, though not, necessarily, their motivations.  Those were a bit farfetched at times.

The resolution was drawn out a bit more than I thought necessary, but, then, I’m aware that a lot of publishers require authors to write a certain number of word or pages (sometimes with disastrous results).  Still, the ending was emotionally satisfying.

Though not Ms. Lindsey’s best effort, I recommend checking this book out at your library (or waiting for the paperback).

Rating:  3 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

