Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling

A definte improvment over Half-Blood Prince.  Oh, wait, sorry, that doesn’t say much, does it?  Let’s try this:  I absolutely loved Deathly Hallows.  Read it in one night.

I know that many people will be seriously offended by the revelations about Albus Dumbledore, but I was almost relieved by them.  (Though, why the hell did they have to come to light through Rita Skeeter?  Or, at least, as close to the truth as she gets.)  No one is perfect.  And, I think it says alot about Dumbledore that he did not use the power he obtained for darker purposes, despite of the temptation.

Another bone of contention will be Severus Snape.  I liked the fact that he wasn’t totally redeemed.

As for the other deaths, I was sorry for a few of them, didn’t really care about others (i.e. Mad-Eye), and Hedwig just saddened and annoyed me simultaneously.  But the one death that touched me, surprised me by the touching:  Dobby.  I just about cried.

I loved how it all worked out, and the epilogue was emotionally satisfying.  All in all, Deathly Hallows may very well subplant Goblet of Fire as my favorite Harry Potter book.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

