Someone to Love by Jude Deveraux

Someone to Love has more depth than any Jude Deveraux novel I’ve read in a long time, though I thought that our heroine (Nightingale Augusta Smythe, how’s that for a name!) would have benefited from a little more back story. 

The probable cause of these wonderful layers is the herocentric (yes, I know that’s not an actual word) nature of the plot.  Jace Montgomery has sort of fallen into a rut after the death of his fiancee, Stacy Evan, which was ruled a suicide.  He can’t seem to go forward with his life until he finds out what really happened.  So, after finding a mysterious note in one of her books, he buys a truly ugly English manor house, hoping it will lead him to answers he desperately needs.  The house, BTW, is haunted, and the ghost has problems of her own.

I really liked this book, but I have two major problems with it:

1.  There is a point where Jace needs access to people in the upper echelons of British society.  Why didn’t he just use his connection of the King of Lanconia to whom he is related?  I mean, Jace is a Montgomery!

2.  The ending.  I know it’s supposed to be sweet and poignant, and it was, don’t get me wrong, but I just couldn’t get rid of my ick vibe while reading it.

Despite that, I highly recommend Someone to Love.

Rating:  3.75 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

