Rambling About Stuff (Scraps, Books, and Dumbledore)

First, the new theme.  Isn’t it pretty?  I just plain got bored with my old one.  The header image was created in Terragen.  By me.

Second, Dumbledore is gay.  Get over it.  The kid asked, Rowling answered.  Were there hints in the books?  Probably.  Did I catch them?  No.  I wasn’t looking, and, frankly, don’t care.  And, besides, when she writes that encyclopedia, it would have come out anyway.

I’ve joined another scrap group, Scrappy Dayz, and a book group, BookCrazy.  Both are a lot of fun.

The weather’s gotten a bit chilly, especially after all the lovely warmth, and the lovelier rain, of last week.  I was rather hoping that Noel would make his way up here, but it doesn’t look like that’s going to happen.

I read four books over the weekend, two hits, two misses.

  • The Botany of Desire: A Plant’s Eye View of the World by Michael Pollan – This is one of the most interesting books I have ever read, and, yet, at the same time, one of the most boring. However, it always saved itself by become interesting about the time I was thinking about putting it down. These, if not boring, then certainly uninteresting, parts occurred usually about the time Pollan went off with some companion to look at things first hand (like with Monsanto and the potatoes, or with Bill Jones and his Saint Johnny Appleseed Tour). Outside of this, Pollan either had me laughing or thinking really hard about things I’d taken for granted. Or just never noticed. I’ll never look at my garden the same way again. I highly recommend The Botany of Desire.
  • Scandal Becomes Her by Shirlee Busbee – Shirlee Busbee’s Defy not the Heart and Midnight Masquerade were among the first “grown-up” books I read, so I was pleased when I heard that she had a new book coming out.  Sadly, this book is a disappointment. It has no where near the depth or character development of her previous efforts. The mystery was interesting, but not suspenseful.
  • Valley of the Shadow by Peter Tremayne – I find Sister Fidelma’s world to be fascinating. I am a history geek, and the stuff about Irish law, custom, and myth is wonderful stuff to me. Excellent mysteries with classic Perry Mason moments where the puzzle pieces fall neatly into place.
  • The Monk Who Vanished by Peter Tremayne – Rather boring and predictable. The history and law of Dark Age Ireland is interesting stuff, but, if you have already read the previous volume, The Valley of the Shadow, the mystery was easy to solve, though the part about the monk confused me until about the end of the book.
Leave a Reply

