Archaeology Magazine’s Top 10 Discoveries of 2007

Archaeology Magazine has compiled a list of the top 10 discoveries of the year, plus nine of what I suppose we could call “honorable mentions.”

Archaeology Magazine’s Top 10 Discoveries of 2007

Personally, I disagree with two of the ten:  The Nebo-Sarsekim Cuneiform Tablet and the Lismullin Henge at Tara in Ireland. 

Do you know how many henges are in Ireland?  The only reason this one is on the list is because of the highway being built, which will destroy many of the archaeology sites at Tara. 

As for the tablet, I know I’ve put the cat in with the pigeons.  I don’t happen to think it all that important, but, then, I don’t happen to be a religious person.  You are completely free to disagree with me.

I think that the Building of the Great Pyramid should have been included in the top 10, because, if the theory proves correct, it will answer one of history’s great puzzles.

Anyway, what do y’all think?

Leave a Reply

