The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Maybe I would have liked this better if I hadn’t read A Thousand Splendid Suns first, but I doubt it.  The main character, and narrator, Amir, was a snake and his beloved Baba a hypocrite.  The only characters I could sympathize with were the Hazara.

The writing in The Kite Runner is excellent, and I think that is the reason for my unease, for many of the events, well described emotionally, left me disturbed.  Hence, I believe, my feelings of dissatisfaction.

This is a wonderful book, but I liked A Thousand Splendid Suns more.

Rating:  4 out of 5 stars

2 thoughts on “The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

  1. I read The Kite Runner last summer, and it is one of my all time favorite books. I didn’t have A Thousand Splendid Suns to compare it to (just got it for Christmas). A few people have said they liked ATSS better than Kite Runner, so I can’t wait to start it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

