The Blood of Flowers by Anita Amirrezvani

I’ve never read anything set in sixteenth century Persia, so this was a new experience for me.  The Blood of Flowers is a beautifully written voyage through the centuries and across cultures to a magic place.  Especially as compared to Elizabethan period Europe.

My one regret in the novel is that Leila did not get the opportunity to smack Gordiyeh.  Somebody should have, if you ask me.  My fingers itched to at quite a few points as a I read.  And I cried as I read the last letter to Naheed, though I don’t think the spoiled brat really deserved that courtesy as much as Leila thought.  Ludmilla, yes, Naheed, no.

The Blood of Flowers is a treat I highly recommend you savor.

Rating:  5 out of 5 stars

A Note:  Though I refer to the heroine as “Leila”, her name was never actually mentioned in the book.  However, it is stated that her name comes from the story of Majnoon.  The tale of Majnoon and Leila (there are many different spellings, so I just picked one) is a popular one in the Muslim world.  So, I’m assuming that Leila is her name.

Leave a Reply

