The Swallows of Kabul by Yasmina Khadra

I did not like this book as much as I thought I would.  This is not due to the writing, which I thought was lyrical and poetic.  Nor is it lacking in storyline or character development.  The Swallows of Kabul is an eloquent, horrifying glimpse into the world oppressed by Taliban fanaticism.  One question, though:  What happened to Zunaira?  We are left to assume that she vanished into complete anonymity, the thing she most feared, but still . . . .

Rating:  3.5 out of 5 stars

2 thoughts on “The Swallows of Kabul by Yasmina Khadra

  1. Well, I think its one of those stories you have to figure out the end yourself. I think Zunaira is a smart lady and a feminist to some sense. She played up to Atiq to get herself out of trouble and when she found a way to get clear of him she jet. She wasn’t gonna be dumb enough to let another man degrade her again.

    Like

  2. Zunaira never played Atiq. She never knew that another woman would die instead of her.It wa Atiq who was naive and childish enough to think that a woman like that, would live with him out of gratitude; jut like he did himself with his wife…Personnaly, I think that Zunaira had no choice but to become a ghost like the other women that populate the streets of the “wasteland” named kabul. What a waste?
    I loved the book and all my friends wanted to read it when I told them about the abominable burka switch. Extremely imaginative.
    I suggest you read “The Attack” by the same author.

    Like

Leave a Reply

