You Go Girl Moments

In my review of Mary Balogh’s Simply Perfect, I mentioned that her Slightly Dangerous contained one of my favorite “You Go Girl” Moments.  Well, after I typed that, I started remembering others.  These are just a few (listed in no particular order), though I’m sure to think of others.

  • Slightly Dangerous by Mary Balogh – Christine throws Wulfric’s ubiquitous quizzing glass into a tree.  That thing was irritating, and he wasn’t even raising it at me.  I cheered out loud.
  • Renegade by Diana Palmer – I can never adequately explain why I like her books so much, because I don’t know the answer myself.  Nine times out of ten her heroines are door mats and her heroes second cousin to a Neandertal, but, for some inexplicable reason, I find her novels addicting.  I go through spurts where I read half-a-dozen in a row.  Anyway, I laughed and cheered when Tippy laid into that would-be kidnapper with a castiron skillet.  It was priceless.
  • Enchanted by Nora Roberts – Liam Donovan is an alpha male, frustrating and sexy at the same time.  You know the kind.  You want to knock him upside the head and jump him simultaneously.  Well, he makes one highhanded decision too many, and, in frustration, he asks Rowan if she wants him to beg.  My mouth fell open right along with him when she said yes!
  • Guilty Pleasures by Laura Lee Gurhke – Daphne fell head-over-heels in love with Anthony at first sight.  Or, to be more accurate, she fell in lust, as she realizes later.  After he compromises her, he demands she marry him.  Anthony, you see, is a duke, with all of the arrogance and authority that goes with the title.  I was quite proud of Daphne when she turned him down and pretty much told him to go to the devil.
  • Petals on the River by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss – This is one of my favorite romances by one of my favorite authors.  Shemaine and Gage haven’t been married an entire day when Roxanne Corbin comes upon them at an inappropriate moment while they are bathing in the creek/river.  She rages at them, accusing Gage of murdering his first wife, and threatening to tell everyone in town.  Well, Shemaine, instead of shrinking away from her husband in horror, declares she is cold and tired of listening to Roxanne’s “inane prattle”.  She then kisses him, walks out of the water, and standing naked on the bank asks if he would care to join her back at the cabin where they could continue where they left off before they were so rudely interrupted.  I hooted with glee!
  • The Elusive Flame by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss – I just thought of this one as I typed.  When her late guardian’s nephew breaks into her house intending to kidnap her and carry her off to England, Cerynise locks her baby in a linen closet, extinguishes all of the lamps in the house, and proceeds to wreak havoc on Alistair and his companion.  It was hilarious.
Leave a Reply

