Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet

Pillars of the Earth is an awesome work, rich in history and detail.  Echoes of truth resound in the tale, which seems to have been based, in part, on the construction of Lincoln Cathedral.  Though, the real bishop of Lincoln, Hugh, was saintly, unlike Waleran of Kingsbridge.

The characters are beautifully written.  I especially like Jack, Philip, and Aliena.  Although, I wish that Aliena has knocked Richard upside the head a time or two.  Or maybe the ego.  That would have hurt more.  Ellen was just wierd.  I would not have wanted to cross her!

Now I have a problem.  I want to read World Without End, but I’m about number 45 on the library request list, which means I’ll probably get it somewhere around Halloween.  😦

Oh, well, there are plenty of books in my TBR pile waiting to be read between now and then.

If you haven’t read Pillars of the Earth yet, it is a must read.  Especially if you love medieval history.

Rating:  5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

