Twenty Wishes by Debbie Macomber

I enjoyed this book very much.  Debbie Macomber is always an excellent choice if you’re in the mood for a chick read (along with Deborah Smith, Barbara Bretton, and Barbara Samuel).

My only problem with the book, or more precisely, with Anne Marie, is her constant whining about not having a child.  Pretty much the whole time, she’s fostering Ellen.  Even if she didn’t keep Ellen at the end, she could still have fostered other kids, or adopted them.  The fact that she was completely blind to this throughout the book annoyed me.  I wanted to tell her to wake up and stop with the pity party.

I found Twenty Wishes very inspiring.  In fact, I’ve compiled my own list:  🙂

The wishes are all about possibilities, and opening our eyes to them, going out and grasping life with both hands.  With the current economic situation, most of my wishes will have to wait, but they are there, giving something to look forward to.  That’s the whole point of wishes, to give us all hope.  How many of us wished upon a star, or a dandelion, or a ladybug as kids?  Well, think of your list as an adult version of that, though, I will admit, I do wish on a dandelion or a star occasionally. 🙂

I loved this book, and highly recommend it.

Rating:  4 out of 5 stars.

One thought on “Twenty Wishes by Debbie Macomber

Leave a Reply

