The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry

Going in, I was intrigued by the premise of this book, but made wary by the mixed reviews I’d been reading.  I was pleasantly surprised.  Ms. Barry deserves major points for creativity, though why no one, including me, managed to realize the scrying possibilities of lace before now is a mystery to me.

I liked the story, and the characters.  What’s lacking, until the last part of the book, is any real, palpable, tension.  No magnetism to keep me glued to the page.  Though I was entertained and intrigued, I was never actually pulled into the story.  I had no trouble putting this book down at any time in the story.  Even when the lights went out Saturday morning, I wasn’t all that frustrated by the interruption.

Brunonia Barry shows a lot of promise as an author, and I’m interested enough to look forward to her next effort.  Hopefully, she’ll be able to breathe real life into her tale.

Rating:  3.75 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

