The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

I am NOT a fan of racing, in or out of the rain.  To me, watching a bunch of cars racing around a track for hours on end, the monotony broken only by the occasional crash or caution, is the height of boredom.  You’d might as well watch grass grow.  Or go to that site where you can watch cheese age.  Don’t crucify me, please.  🙂  

This book, nonetheless, made me laugh and made me cry.  I spent the last chapter in tears.  I also about died laughing when Enzo so eloquently expressed everyone’s opinion of those papers.  And I couldn’t help but grin when he, ummm, “got busy” on the Evil Twins’ expensive rug.  Enzo often envied our ability to speak, and morned his lack, but, at times, actions are better.

I can’t help but wonder where Mr. Stein got the inspiration for the sex-crazed stuffed zebra(!!!!!!!!), though, and can’t help but wonder if toilet paper and the stuff in our trash cans are equally perverted in our abscense seeing as how this is what my sister’s dog likes to shred all over the house.

Anyway . . .

I loved this book.  Though the writing was actually rather boring at times, the story kept me eagerly turning the pages.

Rating:  4.25 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

