Serena by Ron Rash

That woman is freakin’ creepy.  That was my first thought about Serena, and everything that happens later confirms it.  She’s crazy.  The cold, calculated, sociopathic kind of crazy.  And I kept thinking what an idiot Pemberton is.  I, mean, geez.  Not that he was a nice man.  Far from it.  But, it didn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out what was going to happen on that last hunting excursion.  Maybe not the details, but the overall outcome was a no-brainer.

The ending has the ring of poetic justice to it, but I was hoping, from it’s first mention, that the panther would go after Serena.  That would have been the ending I’d have preferred.  But, oh well, we can’t have everything.

This is an excellent, thrilling, enthralling read.  I just loved this book!  Ron Rash’s backlist in definitely in my reading future.

Rating:  5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

