Eventide by Kent Haruf

Once again, I found myself completely absorbed in the lives of the people of Holt, Colorado.  I can’t help but hope that there may yet be another sequel, as I am still wondering what happened with the lawsuit that boy and his parents were filing against Tom Guthrie.

It is rare to find a sequel that’s even better than the original, but Eventide is definitely one such.  As much as I loved Plainsong, I loved Eventide even more.  It seems smoother, richer, more emotionally gripping.   There were more layers here, a more complex set of feelings.

This is a wonderfully absorbing read that I highly recommend.

Rating:  4.75 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

