The Little Giant of Aberdeen County by Tiffany Baker

Is it possible for a book to be bipolar?  Everything was just so extreme.  The characters, the emotions the author attempted to convey, everything.  This worked in the beginning, I’ll admit, but after a while it started to wear on me.

Maybe it’s because I got the flu about a quarter of the way through this book, but the woe-is-me quotient was way too high.  It just seemed as if Ms. Baker kept laying it on and on and on. 

And the characters were so stereotypical they were cartoonish, especially Robert Morgan and Serena Jane.  There were times when I half expected dear old Bob Bob to wriggle is eyebrows like a villain in a bad silent movie.

The only truly interesting part of the book came when Truly experienced her “Eureka!” moment about Tabby’s spellbook.  Even that didn’t entirely save this book from mediocrity.

I know I’m in the minority, here, but I can’t make myself recommend this book unless you like bad soap operas or those movies where the villain ties the heroine to the train tracks.

Rating:  3.75 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

