An Echo in the Bone by Diana Gabaldon

I don’t really know what I think of this book, mostly because it’s been so long since I’ve read the rest of the series.  I meant to re-read them before my turn came in the library queue, but I never found the time.  There are many series out there in which each book can pretty much stand alone, but Outlander is not one of them.   I’ll probably re-read this book, along with the others, at some point later in the year.  Maybe I’ll have a better handle on everything then. 

It might also be a good idea if I read the Lord John books.  I’ve never read any of them, but there are references to things in An Echo in the Bone that obviously come from them.  The Brotherhood of the Blade, for example.

So . . .

My main problem with this book is chronological.  In one part we’re reading about Will in America and it’s 1776, then the next it’s Lord John in England in 1777, then we’re back in America with the Frasers and it’s 1776 again.  It was confusing.

I was intrigued by Randall-Isaac and what will happen when certain connections of his become known to the Frasers and Lord John.  I’m being cryptic, I know, but I’m trying not to spoil everything.  Although, if you’ve read the earlier novels in the series, then you know to what connections I refer.

There were, also, several interesting plot twists about Roger’s relations, those of the eighteenth and the twentieth centuries.  I don’t know how I feel about the Rob Cameron mess.  Right now that whole sub-plot seems superfluous, but I’ll have to wait until the next book to see.  Also, the complex, rather delicate, situation in Boston upon Jamie’s return came about too easily for me to believe. 

Rating:  3 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

