Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

I loved this book, was completely absorbed in it, until The Plan.  Otherwise known as Valentina’s Enormously Stupid (Not to Mention Cowardly) Idea.  Are you kidding me?  Seriously, are we supposed to believe that someone smart enough to get into Cornell would be that ridiculously stupid?  What kind of melodramatic idiot thinks up something like that?  Someone has read way too much Dickens.  And Poe.  

The beginning of this book is excellent and so is the very end.  I especially enjoyed the parts about Martin and his struggle.  Those were excellently written.   The rest of the book was, too, but, I just can’t get over The Plan.  It just seemed wrong to me.  For me, it just doesn’t fit.  It was like listening to a perfectly gorgeous symphony and then, midway through the second movement, all the notes are off just enough to make the whole thing sound discordant.

Another plus was the bit about the crows in the graveyard. What an interesting flight of fancy! 

Her Fearful Symmetry is an excellent book with an unfortunately skewed plot.  If that makes any sense.  🙂

Rating:  4.25 out of 5 stars

2 thoughts on “Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

  1. I totally agree. I was really enjoying the book until that whole plot emerged. And I doubly didn’t get why Robert went along with it, before it happened. Once it happened I could understand it, in that he was getting something out of it.

    And yes, the crows were brilliant 🙂

    Like

  2. Completely agree. I was very disappointed by the last third of this book, which had started so well. Valentina’s plan (and the fact that anyone else would agree to go along with it!) defied credibility, and really weakened the story overall.
    I’m a huge fan of the Timer Traveler’s Wife, but this was a poor second for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

