May Reads, 2010

ReadingRoundup_dsWe got our computer back, but I haven’t really had a lot of time for it, or for reading.  This is due, in part, to the Great Mother’s Day Surprise.  Since my younger sister lives in Arizona, Mom hadn’t met Brady, who’ll be a year old in July.  So, we all plotted to arrange a surprise visit.  Arriving at the house at about 1 AM that morning, they stayed for a week.  He’s pulling himself up a lot , and crawling everywhere, so he was into everything.  One of his favorite activities was pulling all of the CD’s from the shelves.  It was great!  Mom was exhausted, but she enjoyed every moment of it.

And, yesterday, my older sister’s son turned 18.  He’ll be graduating from high school in a couple of weeks.

I’ve been  busy, but I did find a little time to read.  Currently, I’m about half-way through Allende’s latest, Island Beneath the Sea.  I like it, but it’s not blowing me away, either.

  • The Skull Mantra by Eliot Pattison – I read this book as much for the setting as I did the plot.  Tibet is a fascinating place.  The story dragged a little in places, and the assistant prosecutor was really annoying.  I kept hoping he would end up being a victim of the killer.  The mystery was well done, though, with lots of twists and turns.  Admittedly, I figured out the whodunit the moment the character was introduced, but not the why or the how.  I will definitely read more of this series.  Rating:  4.25
  • Serving Crazy With Curry by Amulya Malladi – This was a quick, very enjoyable chick read.  At first, I found the family rather irritating.  All of them seemed stuck in Me-ville, more worried about themselves than why Devi tried to kill herself.  Eventually, they got over themselves, mostly, and I ended up liking the book very much.  Rating:  4.25
  • Dracula: the Un-dead by Dacre Stoker and Ian Holt – Unfinished due to indifference.
  • Stay a Little Longer by Dorothy Garlock – Flat characters with little depth and a cardboard plot in which the so-called conflicts were too easily resolved.  Rating:  2.5
  • Shattered by Karen Robards – Not her best work, but not entirely bad, either.  Rating: 3
  • Hannah’s List by Debbie Macomber – P.S. I Love You meets Debbie Macomber.  I liked this book, don’t get me wrong, but this plot device has been a bit overdone lately.  Rating:  4
  • Burning Lamp by Amanda Quick – The latest Arcane Society novel. Maybe it’s because they are Victorian and the Victorian Era bores me silly, but don’t really like the Amanda Quick contributions to this series.  This one, however, is an exception.  Did it blow me away, no, but I didn’t find myself skimming it, either.  Rating:  3.5
Leave a Reply

