Pleistocene Jaguars

Okay, this has been bugging me.  The geek demon’s been sitting on my shoulder, and won’t allow the question to die.  So, today, Google and I did some research. 

First, I discovered that jaguar fossils have been found in caves in eastern Tennessee.  Check out the map on this page.  Notice the dot on the Tennessee/North Carolina line.

I dug a little deeper and found this excerpt posted at The Fossil Forum.  It mentions jaguar fossils in Georgia.  I found similar information here

Finally, I found this at Google Books:  Pleistocene Mammals of North America.  It lists South Carolina, as well as Florida, Georgia, and Tennessee.  I was unfamiliar with some of the chronological terms, so I looked them up at Wikipedia.  The Irvingtonian was 1.8 million to 300,000 BP and the Rancholabrean 300,000 to 11,000 BP.

Besides, these, I found several references to jaguars in Oregon, Washington, Nebraska, Pennsylvania, and Maryland.

Anyway, it was a very long time ago, but jaguars did roam in the Carolinas, though, given the sparsity of the evidence, probably not in large numbers.

Leave a Reply

