The Map of True Places by Brunonia Barry

My main problem with Ms. Barry’s first offering, The Lace Reader, was the lack of life in the book.  I loved the story, but it had no charisma.  The Map of True Places shows some improvement in that regard.  Was it a page turner?  Not really, but I definitely felt something for the characters.  And I did not see the truth about Melville coming.  I had my suspicions about Adam, but Melville was a complete surprise.

I was unaware that bipolarity and manic depression were the same thing, and found the details of the condition disturbing.   Ms. Barry’s description of the horrors of Parkinson’s and its similarities, in the later stages, to Alzheimer’s were vivid and disconcerting.  All of it was very well done.

Out of curiosity, and slightly off topic:  how could Moby Dick be anyone’s favorite book?  I didn’t get past the third chapter.  Talk about boring.  Hawthorne I like, but Melville is a snooze-fest for me.  It’s been a long time since I read The House of Seven Gables, I just might find myself reading it again soon.

Rating:  4 out of 5 stars

One thought on “The Map of True Places by Brunonia Barry

  1. I just finished reading this book myself. I appreciate your review and feel very much the same. The characters were somewhat endearing and I had complete empathy for Zee. I can’t imagine watching your “father” go through that. Maybe that was why it was a harder book for me to read. I am finding it really hard to watch my father just get old, never mind being sick.
    Love the comment about Moby Dick. I concur.

    Like

Leave a Reply

