The Passage by Justin Cronin

Although I didn’t find this book as absorbing as most people seem to have done, I was definitely intrigued and deeply invested in the characters.  And more than a little creeped out by Babcock and Zero.  I think that the best parts of the book, the most chilling, are with Zero and Babcock.  The voices and the horrible dreaming.

Also, for some reason, during the second part of the book, after we’ve leapt forward about a hundred years to The Colony, I kept thinking about S. M. Stirling’s Dies the Fire, the first of his Change series.  Just the whole post-Apocalyptic vibe, I guess, though the circumstances of the Apocalypse are quite different from The Passage.

Anyway…

Anyone else picture Nosferatu while reading this book?  I know that allusions to Dracula are made in the book, but the vampires in my head were more Nosferatu/Salem’s Lot than Dracula.

If I did not already know that The Passage was the first of a trilogy, I would be seriously ticked off about the ending.  As it is, I really want to know what happened!  I’m not just talking about the abrupt end to “The Book of Sara”.  What did Amy mean when she thought that Alicia knew what Peter was?

Rating:  4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

