Oddly Shabby

One of things that gets my imagination tuned to scrapping are pictures.  You’re thinking, “well, duh!”.  That’s not the kind of picture I meant.  Sometimes, while surfing the web, I’ll see an image whose colors just pop out at me.  “You know, that would make an interesting color scheme for a kit”, I’ll think.  This one, oddly enough, was a gorgeous picture of mountains reflected in a lake with a clear, blue sky.  Lots of different blues and greens, bluish greens and greenish blues, with some browns.  So, I opened the image in PSP, and started picking colors.

Now, how did I get a kit called “Oddly Shabby” out of a picture of a mountain lake?  Well, that’s the “odd” part of the “oddly”.  I didn’t start out going for a shabby look.  That just kind of happened.  I was happily drawing and creating, when I suddenly noticed what I had.  Though this kit certainly isn’t completely shabby, it is “oddly” shabby.

Oddly Shabby contains:

  • 12 papers
  • 13 frames
  • 23 labels
  • 18 buttons
  • 12 glitter accents
  • 6 flowers
  • 6 gemstones
  • 6 glitter tiles
  • 6 glitter hearts
  • 6 keys
  • 6 ric-rac
  • 5 tabs
  • 4 glitter starfish
  • 3 glitter leaves
  • 3 borders
  • 1 alpha (lower and uppercase letters, numbers, and some symbols)

For those of you wondering about the glitter starfish, like, why are they in this kit, I was originally trying for a beach/sea/water theme.  I liked the starfish, so decided to keep them.

The font I used for the alpha is Maiandra GD.  For the labels, I used Ayosmonika by Germán Ventriglia which you can get at dafont.com.

I used this tutorial for learning to draw the keys, then I just  went with it.  To make the tabs, I adapted this Photoshop Tutorial in GIMP:  How to Make a Bookmark.

Download:  mediafire

13 thoughts on “Oddly Shabby

  1. What wonderful colors, you’ve designed a really spectacular (and versatile) kit here. Thank you so much for sharing your time and talent.

    Like

    1. Ooops! I’m so sorry about that. The file has been updated at both download sites. And, to all that have already downloaded the kit, you can download the uppercase letters only (“V” included!) here (4shared) or here (mediafire).

      Like

Leave a Reply

