Fun Tutorial: Retro Folded Typography

Just had to share this!  I found this really cool tutorial when I as looking for retro, vintage style things to make for my kit, Goode Ole Tyme.  While I loved the effect, it just wouldn’t fit the “look” and “feel” I was going for.  Knowing I’d just have to try it anyway, I bookmarked it.

Doesn’t that look awesome?  If you want to try it for yourself, here’s the link:  Retro Folded Typography Using Photoshop.

I, of course, don’t have Photoshop, but a few years ago, I found some plugins for GIMP (while doing yet another awesome text effect tutorial:  Ornate Typographic Illustration Tutorial) that give very similar results to Photoshop’s layer styles.  That’s how I did the “satin” style.  The rest, I did in Paint Shop Pro X2 Ultimate Edition.

If y’all decide to play with this, let me know so I can see your results.

Here’s another that I did.  I changed the “A” and the “M”, and I thought it would look more realistic if I added some shading and highlights at the folds.  The difference is subtle, but I like it:

Oh, by the way, the tutorial doesn’t give a link for the font they use, Futura Bold, so I will.  You can get it from the FontZone.

Leave a Reply

