Tangled Roots: Roland Chosewell Dixon

We already knew that one of our great-grandmothers was a Dixon.  Here’s their marriage record.  So, her father was Bryon Dixon.  We find Bryan Dixon in the household of John D. Dixon in 1870 census.  However, in the 1880 census, he is Edward B. Dixon.  Thus, Edward Bryan Dixon son of John D. Dixon.  The 1880 census also tells us that married Nancy Jane Daniels in 1844. Incidentally, it also answered the question of whether his mother was Mary or Catherine.  Both:  Mary Catherine Paul.

However, before we get sidetracked with Pauls and Daniels’, we weren’t done with the Dixons.  The 1880 Pamlico County Census (yes, again), told us that Joseph Franklin Sumberlin married Margaret Ann Dixon, daughter of William Dixon and Margaret Scott.  Here’s the marriage record.

So, what was the connection?  There had to be one seeing as how all of them were living in Township 1, Pamlico County.  The answer came when I stumbled over this and many other conversations over at Genforum (which, unfortunately, will be closing at the end of the month).  They were brothers.  Sons of Roland Chosewell Dixon and Penelope Keel.  Roland fought in the War of 1812 and, briefly, in the Civil War.  He died November 26, 1864.  I don’t know the cause of death.  His youngest son, and namesake, Roland Chosewell Dixon, Jr., died September 30, 1864 during the Yellow Fever Epidemic (scroll down a bit) that was ravaging New Bern at the time.  Roland Sr. might have as well.

I want to thank Suzy Dixon Bennett, apparently my cousin many times over, for taking the time to post her research.  Thanks to her research, I can now trace my Dixon ancestry back to Walter Dixon, Sr. who migrated from Virginia to Pitt County.

 

2 thoughts on “Tangled Roots: Roland Chosewell Dixon

  1. It is always fascinating to “meet” someone else who descends from Walter Dixon. Your last paragraph which acknowledges Suzy’s expertise and kindness to share applies to me 100%, also. Due to computer issues, I no longer have Suzy’s current e-mail address. Could you be so kind as to furnish it to me ?

    It would also be interesting and pleasant to converse with you.

    Thank you.

    Robert Dixon

    Like

    1. It is, isn’t it, though I may not be descended from Walter after all. My line is Roland C. Dixon (twice) – William Dixon – Chosewell Dixon – John Dixon. My John is not the son of Walter, as I’ve since learned. Walter’s will, in which his son John is “deceased”, was written in March 1767. My John wrote his will in March 1772.

      However, I have another Dixon line that has me puzzled. It also comes from Beaufort County and may, ultimately, to Walter. Lucretia “Lucy” Dixon, born c.1820, married John Gatlin Rowe in about 1842. They’re first child, my ancestor, Noah D. Rowe (I think the D is for Dixon), was born February 14, 1843. In 1850, John and Lucy were living in Durham’s Creek Township, Beaufort County. John is a widower by 1860. Their youngest child, Mary, was born in 1857, according to the census. I wonder if Lucy died during childbirth? I don’t know who Lucy’s parents were. John died sometime in the 1860s, though not before joining the Confederate army in 1861. I do know that he remarried. His estate file mentions a widow, Olivia. In 1870, there’s an Olivia Roe living with Aaron Philips and his wife, Annie. Before her marriage, Annie was a Harrington, so I figure Olivia was one or the other, though I can’t find which.

      As for Suzy, I’ll ask if it’s okay for me to give you her email address.

      Becky

      Like

Leave a Reply

