The Republic of Tea: A Citizen’s Rhapsody

What is it about cool, crisp mornings that begs for a cup of tea?  Or rainy afternoons?  I always start my day with nice, warm cup of tea.  Even on the hottest, most humid summer day.  My favorite?  Caramel Vanilla Cuppa Cake Tea from the Republic of Tea.  Just add a little sweetener, I use Splenda, and a splash of milk and you’re in tea heaven.  My sister thinks it smells really good.  She won’t drink it, says she’s not a tea person, but she loves the smell.

RepublicofTeaIf I need a little extra charge, I go for their Toasted Coconut Hi-Caf Tea.  For a late afternoon treat, when I go for Coconut Cocoa Cuppa Chocolate.  Add a little almond milk to either of these and yum!  I really want to try the Almond Coconut Macaroon Red Tea.

Talk about yummy, my special, anytime, treat is Cardamom Crème Brûlée.  Inspired by the movie The Hundred Foot Journey, this tea is decadence in a cup.  With this one, to get the full flavor, you must use real sugar.  It tastes fine with Splenda, but sugar really brings out the crème brûlée flavor and, somehow, enhances the warm spice of the cardamom.

I’ve tried other flavors.  Some I liked, some not so much.  The Lemon Chiffon Cuppa Cake tea kind of reminded me of Fruit Loops.  Not bad, but I’d rather just eat some.  It doesn’t take as long to prepare, and it’s cheaper.  I wasn’t that impressed with the other Cuppa Chocolate flavors.  The Blood Orange and Cranberry was the worst.  It tasted just plain nasty to me.  Made me think of Robitussin.  I really liked the Orange Blossom White Tea, though.  It smells divine and it’s got a really delicate orange flavor.

Leave a Reply

