Tea Sampler: Peppermint Bark and Bates’ Brambleberry Tea

teacupIt is COLD this morning.  Today is definitely the sit by the fire sipping endless cups of tea kind of day.  Add in a blanket, a purring kitty, and a good book and you’d have perfection.  Too bad it also happens to be a weekday.

The sample included with The Republic of Tea’s December catalog was Peppermint Bark Holiday Herb Tea.  I’ve tried their Peppermint Cuppa Chocolate Tea before, and didn’t like it, so I really didn’t think I’d like this either, but I do.  A lot.

January’s catalog, which I got a couple of days ago, includes a sample of Bates’ Brambleberry Tea from the Downton Abbey collection.  I did not like this tea at all and I can’t really explain why.

Back in November, I received, upon request, samples of Almond Coconut Macaroon and Gingerbread Cuppa Cake teas.  They’re really good about that.  I’m on a very tight budget, especially now, so I can’t afford to purchase an entire tin just to try a new tea.  So, I write to them, requesting a sample, and they, very kindly, send me a sample.  For which I am very grateful.  That’s how I got to try the Cardamom Crème Brûlée tea, which I love and really want them to make a forever tea (this means you get 50 bags instead of 36 and you can order refills).

Unfortunately, I can’t say I liked the macaroon or the gingerbread teas all that much.  The former was more almond than coconut, and there’s something in the gingerbread tea that leaves me with a not all together pleasant aftertaste.  It left me thinking more of fruit cake than gingerbread.  I got the same flavor impression from the Dream by the Fire Red Tea sample I received with my last order.  The other sample that came with the order was Honey Ginseng Green Tea.  Not being a fan of honey in anything, I gave that one away.

I really, really wish they had a pick your stack option.  Like this.  Three different teas, twelve bags each.  Only, in my way, you’d get to pick which teas.  I’d definitely choose Peppermint Bark and the Pumpkin Spice.  I don’t like either of these enough to get 36 or 50 bags, but 12 of each would be perfect.  As for the third, I’m thinking Mrs. Patmore’s Pudding Tea, another of the Downton Abbey teas.  It sounds yummy.

Leave a Reply

