Marco Polo

I’ve recently started watching Marco Polo on Netflix.  I like it, but does anyone else think it would be better without Marco Polo?  He really annoys me.  I sink into the intricate snake-pit of the Mongol hordes and the Song court, then a scene with Marco comes along and I lose interest.

On the other hand, the casting of Kublai Khan was inspired.  He, Hundred Eyes, and the “Cricket” Chancellor are my favorite characters.  I just love the way the chancellor’s crooked mind works.  He’s cruel and twisted, with a crafty, creative mind.

So, I ignore Signor Polo and the unrealistic portrayal of Chinese noblewomen (something else that annoys me), while I immerse myself in the battle of wits between the Khan and the Chancellor.

Leave a Reply

