The Truth According to Us by Annie Barrows

When I learned that Annie Barrows, co-authoress of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (I feel a re-read coming on), one of my favorite books, was finally penning another grown-up novel, my reader’s brain did a little happy dance. The Truth According to Us does not disappoint. The epistolary parts are especially entertaining.Truth_Barrows

Felix engendered particularly strong emotions in me. For such an unlikeable character, he was oddly, well, likeable. You can’t help but pull for Jottie (how do you get Jottie from Josephine, by the way?) and Vause.  And reading that last sentence, I see how odd that sounds seeing that Vause is dead and this is not a paranormal romance. Nevertheless, it’s true. Throughout the entire novel, I kept thinking, “Come on, Jottie, open your damn eyes!” It was so obvious.  Unless, of course, you’re twelve like poor ferociously devoted Willa.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, but, if I were you, I wouldn’t attempt to read it while other people are around. Unless they are fellow readers, they’ll likely think you’re ready for a padded cell. I remember snorting out a laugh at one point and muttering “Chemicals my ass”, at one point early in the novel, crying out “I’m glad someone in that family has some sense” at another, and yelling out a smug “HAH! I knew it!” at the climax when everything is Willa’s life, and Felix’s, goes to hell. And that’s just a sample of various laughs, scoffs, sneers, invectives, and interjections that went on during my reading of this book. Even though the ending is predictable from early on, it’s still an enjoyable, entertaining ride to get there.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

goodreads-badge-add-plus-7d89c09d2df9777b38fbd808bb3ffb1a

Leave a Reply

