NPR’s 100 Swoon-Worthy Romances

Back in June NPR asked us to tell them our favorite romance novels.  Last week, they posted the results:  Happy Ever After: 100 Swoon-Worthy Romances.  Oh, how many of these have I read?  This list is a trip down memory lane shrouded in a fog of nostalgia. I passionately adored some, and just as passionately loathed others.

Duke_JQWhen I read The Duke and I, the first of Julia Quinn’s hilariously entertaining Bridgerton series, I wanted Violet Bridgerton to adopt me.  The Bridgerton siblings had me in stitches and I adored Lady Whistledown.  I can’t tell you how happy I was when Ms. Quinn announced they were coming back in her next novel, Because of Miss Bridgerton.  You simply must read the first four books in the series if you haven’t already.

Judge_MacLeanNalini Singh’s Psy-Changling series made the list, as did Sarah MacLean’s Rules of Scoundrels, Outlander, Mary Balogh’s Bedwyns, and so many others.

Classics such as Pride and Prejudice and The Far Pavilions also made it.  And should be classics like Jude Deveraux’s A Knight in Shining Armor and Julie Garwood’s The Bride.  On the flip side, you guys know how much I hate Jane Eyre.

Dove_WoodiwissWhat about what wasn’t on the list (Heartbreakers: Why Some Books Didn’t Make The Final Romance List)?  Why was there nothing by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss on the list?  Sure, the classic The Flame and the Flower features an abusive asshole as hero and a too-stupidly-helpless-nitwit as heroine, but Shana does not.  Or Petals on the RiverThe Wolf and the DoveKadin_SmallCome on people.  Or Bertrice Small’s The Kadin?  I can’t stand Rosemary Rogers, so I’m happy her Sweet Savage Love wasn’t on the list.  Double standard, I know, but… 🙂

And what about Anya Seton’s Katherine?

I did add one series to my ever growing, already gargantuan TBR pile:  The Interitance Trilogy by N. K. Jemisin.  Never heard of these, but they sounded really good.

Leave a Reply

