A Problem of Wills

My next Dixon post was supposed to be about Lydia Caton and her William, and I’ll get back to them, but I’ve run into a problem a bit further up the tree.  Most genealogies state that William was the son of Chosewell who was the son of John who was the son of Walter.  Like these, just to name a few:

My problem with this has to do with their wills, and I’m surprised no one else seems to have noticed this before.  First, you can read Walter’s will in this post at Geneaology.com by Suzy Bennett:  Walter Dixon, Sr.

In this will, dated March 7, 1767, Walter names his wife, Elizabeth, and several children.  One of these children is a son named John, deceased.  So far, so good.  Then we get to John’s will.  If you go to North Carolina State Archives MARS – Basic Search, and type in “John Dixon” and “All”, you’ll be able to read the actual will.  The ink’s faded, but here’s what I was able to make out (with the help of PSP):

In the Name of God Amen. I John Dixon of Beafd County and province of North Carolina this 23 Day of March 1772 being sick and weak of body but of perfect mind and memory thanks be to God for the same therefore calling to mind the mortality of my Body and knowing that it is appointed for all men once to Die I therefore do make and ordain this, my Last Will and Testament that is to say principally and first of all I give my soul into the hands of God that gave itt and for my Body I Recommend it to the Earth to be buried in a Christian like and Decent maner nothing Doubting but at the general Resurrection I shall Receive the same again through the mighty Power of God and as to touching such worldly goods wherewith it hath pleased god to bless me with in this Life I give and Devise in manner and form all followeth. Viz.

Impremis: I give and bequeath unto my son Choosewell Dixson all my Land and Plantation whereon I now Live to him and his heirs for Ever.

Item: I give and bequeath unto my Wife the Third Part of my moveble Estate to her and her heirs for Ever.

Item: I give and bequeath unto my daughter Biatha Dixson one feather bed to her and her heirs for Ever.

I have one horse my mare to be sould by my Executors and the money to be put to the use of the ? house to support my children.

And I do hereby ordain constitute and appoint my Wife and Chosewell Dixon my Executors of this my Last Will and Testament acknowledge this to be my Last Will and Testament in witness whereof I have set my hand and seal the Day and year above written.

John Dixon

Signed Sealed and Published in the presents of

Nicholas Daw
Levin Stanford
Thomas Dixon

This is definitely John, father of Chosewell, but it is NOT John, the son of Walter.  It can’t be.  Why, you ask?  Look at the dates.  John Dixon’s will is dated March 23, 1772 with a probate date of December 11, 1773.  If John is dead March 7, 1767, then how is he alive to write a will March 23, 1772?

So, who was the father my John?

The fact that Walter’s youngest son was named Roland and Chosewell’s grandson was as well may mean they were related in some way, but how, I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

