The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan

I loved this book.  It was a surprise to me how much.  An obvious parody, The Royal We is at once hilarious and poignant with life-sized characters.  Royal_Cocks-MorganYou can tell Cocks and Morgan had a great time making fun of the oh-so-English hyphenated surname.  Penelope Six-Names Something-Something, anyone?

The scenes with Emma were so said.  Bex and Nick are awesome and Freddie hilariously adorable.  I wanted Marta to adopt me.  With her for a mother, how did Eleanor turn into such a stick-in-the-mud?  Speaking of sticks, Lady Bea needed one yanked out of a certain orifice.  Or so I thought until the tree house.  I think I made a sound halfway between a snort and a snicker.  And don’t get me started on Richard.

Oh, and my mouth just about hit the floor during the phone call Bex got during that house party.  I so wanted her to tell him to f— off.  I even chanted it under my breath, but she, apparently, is more polite than me.

I saw the revelation about India coming a mile away.  It was almost as obvious as Gaz and Cilla.

Something not so obvious was the ID of the Royal Flush blogger.  Whoa.  That was a really shocker.  The way she and Nick handled it was tremendously satisfying.  I kind of wish they’d done something similar to Lacey.  She really need to be smacked, in my humble opinion.  I mean, their whole lives, she was the alpha twin.  Always in the spotlight.  Overachieving at everything.  Then, the one time Bex is the one garnering all the buzz, Lacey does her utmost to either shove her out or royally screw it up.  Geez, get over yourself, already… I may have shouted that out loud at some point.

The Royal We is an exhilarating read that has left me longing for a sequel.  Pretty please.

Rating:  5 out of 5 stars

goodreads-badge-add-plus-7d89c09d2df9777b38fbd808bb3ffb1a

Leave a Reply

