The Rogue Not Taken by Sarah MacLean

This first novel of Sarah MacLean’s new Scandal and Scoundrel series, begins with an awesome “You go, girl!” moment involving an ass (in two senses of the word) and a pool.  Rogue-Taken_MacLeanIt was great.  I was very proud of our heroine, Sophie.  But then, she meets the hero…

He calls her “unfun” and she promptly loses about half of her IQ points.  I’m sorry, but I’d be happy to be deemed “unfun” by a person whose idea of fun happens to be careening about in his curricle with such speed that he winds up on two wheels.

Sophie heroine promptly decides to disguises herself as a man and stows away out of London. This is one of my all time romance novel pet peeves.  I hate, absolutely HATE, when they do things like this, Something Stupid. Especially when the disguise if very sloppily done.  One wonders if everyone but King was blind.  And, for all she knew, he could have been going to a brothel or gaming hell. Luckily for her, he doesn’t and, when she gets caught, it’s by him.

Once you get passed all of this, if you can, The Rogue Not Taken becomes a fun read filled with wit and charm. I know it sounds as though I hated it but, I quite enjoyed myself, although I’m not sure that last bit with the “seduction” and marriage, and the reasons for it, were all that necessary an addition to the plot.

I love Sarah MacLean, and The Rogue Not Taken is an entertaining read, but it could have been better.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

goodreads-badge-add-plus-7d89c09d2df9777b38fbd808bb3ffb1a

Leave a Reply

