February Reads 2016

ReadingRoundup_dsI spent a lot of the first half of the month reading and skimming my way through a good portion of J. D. Robb’s In Death series. After finishing the latest, Brotherhood in Death, I thought of a few scenes from previous books that I just had to revisit. It kind of snowballed from there. Scene by scene, I hopscotched my way through over a dozen books. Sometimes I re-read the entire thing, but, mostly, I skimmed as a looked for particular moments. It was fun. Other than that, nothing really stood out. Not that there was much. Just four new reads for the whole month.

Golden_GowdaThe Golden Son by Shilpi Somaya Gowda – I loved Leena’s story. It was gripping and compelling, tragic and triumphant. Anil’s story, however, didn’t do anything for me. I found it difficult to sympathize with is character. I would have enjoyed this book more if we’d stayed in India. Maybe focused a little more on Anil’s siblings and the contrasts between his favored status and theirs, between his book education and their real world experience. Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Robb_BrotherhoodBrotherhood in Death by J. D. Robb – I nearly always enjoy my visits with Eve, Roarke and company. This one especially because Eve isn’t the only one with a crush on the adorable Dennis Mira.  Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Noah_StarckNoah’s Wife by Lindsay Starck – This was one of my most anticipated debut novels of the year, and I won a copy of it at Goodreads. It was an interesting spin on the Noah Flood story. I liked the writing, though I found the story a little to slow for my taste, but I did not like the ending. It was unsatisfying and I didn’t feel like anything was actually resolved. Especially between Noah and his wife and between Noah and his god. Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Rush_BurtonUnexpected Rush by Jaci Burton – This month’s brain candy. It was okay, though what conflict there was felt contrived. Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

