I was right the first time!

I’ve just discovered that you can go to some county register of deeds sites and read old land deeds and bills of sale.  Let’s just say I’ve been having fun with my new toy!

One of the many speculations I made in my post Dolly Bowden was that Elisha Spence was the son of Isaac Spence and Elisabeth Bowden.  Soon after publication of that post, I came across some deed and marriage bond information that led me to conclude that Elisha was not their son but was, instead, the son of Isaac’s brother John and his wife Rhoda.  See The Parentage of Elisha Spence.  Well, it turns out I was right the first time!  When I ran a Scanned Index Books Search at the Cumberland County Register of Deeds website I discovered this deed from Deed Book 28, page 719:

This Indenture made & entered into this ? day of december 1813 [or 15, the day and year are difficult to read] between Isaac Spence of the County of Cumberland & State of N. Carolina of the one part & Elisha Spence (my eldest son) of the other part, Witnesseth that for the love good will & affection which I have and do bear towards Elisha my son I do ? the following tract of land being part of the lands I bought of Wm. Redding; Beginning at a poplar by a branch side near Mill Creek in the line of the old 500 acre survey patented by Woods…containing by estimation one hundred & four acres more or less, To have and to hold, to him the said Elisha Spence his Heirs and assigns, and I the said Isaac Spence for myself my heirs Executors, administrators & assigns do warrant & forever defend the said lands & premises from my right title, interest, or any lawful claim or claims of any person or person whatsoever ? him the said Elisha Spence his Heirs Executors administrators & assigns forever.  In Testimony whereof I have hereunto set my hand and seal the day and date above written.

Signed Sealed & delivered
in the presence of                                                      Isaac (his)   I  (mark)  Spence

John (his mark) Spence
Jas. Atkins

The deed was proven in Cumberland County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions, March Term, 1817, by John Spence.

Leave a Reply

