The Will of John Vendrick (1804)

All spelling and capitalization errors are true to the original. As is the lack of punctuation. I’ve decided to emphasize all names with bold type for easier reading.

In the name of god Amen November 30th day 1804 —

I John Vendrick of the County of Craven and state of North Carolina Being sick and weak in Body and Calling to mind The mortallity of my Body and knowing that it is appointed for all men once to die Do make this my Last will and Testament that is to say prinsipally and first of all I gave and Recommend my soul to god Who gave it and my Body I Recommend to the Earth and as touching such worly Estate wherewith it hath ben please god to bless me with in this life I gave-

Devise and Dispose of the same in the following manner and form

First I lend and Bequeath to my Loving wife Mary Vendrick the use of my Plantation whereon I now Live on the River During her natrel Life or widowhood and after her Death I gave and Bequeath to my well beloved son Peter Vendrick the Lower half of the said Land to him and his heirs for Ever.

I gave and Bequeath unto my Well Beloved son James Vendrick the upper half of the said Land to him and his heirs for Ever

I gave and Bequeath unto my son James Vendrick one Bed and furniture for Ever

I gave and Bequeath unto my son James Vendrick one Desk and case for Ever.

I gave and Bequeath unto my Well Beloved Daughter Penny Vendrick one feather Bed and furniture for Ever.

I gave unto my sons Peter and James Vendrick one Cross Cut saw to be Equally Devided Between them Both

I Lend unto my Well Beloved Wife Mary Vendrick one feather Bed and furniture During her Life and after her Decease I gave it to my Well Beloved Daughter Lany Dickson for Ever

I Lend unto my Well Belloved wife Mary Vendrick all my household furniture of Each and Every kind to be at her own Discression During her Life and all my plantation Tools of Each and Every to Be at her use and Discression During her Life

I gave on Dining table to my Daughter Penny for Ever-
also I gave the Best Linnin Wheel to my Daughter Penny and half a Dozen of silver teaspoons to her for Ever

I gave unto my son Peter Vendrick one Large Chest to him for Ever

I gave one steel trap to my son Peter Vendrick

I gave one linnen Wheel unto my grandaughter Sarah Carpenter the second best

I gave one new chest to my Daughter Penny Vendrick

I gave Liza Hukins one puter Bason

I gave one you and Lamb unto my well Bloved Daugher Rebecah Reed

I gave unto my son James Vendrick one Lamb

I gave and Bequeath unto my Daughter Penny Vendrick one Desk for Ever

I gave and Bequeath unto my grandaughter Sarah Carpenter one puter Dish

I gave unto my Daughter Rebecah Reed one puter Bason

I Lend unto my Well Beloved wife all my Cattle and Horses and Sheep and hogs of Every kind to be at her Disposal During her Life

and after her Death I gave one Cow and Calf to my grandaughter Sarah Carpenter

I gave two puter plats unto my son Peter Vendrick

I gave two puter plates unto my son James Vendrick

I gave two puter plates unto my Daughter Penny Vendrick

I gave one mare to my Daughter Penny Vendrick after my Wifes Death

and all my tools of Every kind after my Wifes Death to be Equally Devided Between my sons Peter and James Vendrick

and all my other property that I have not given of in Lagises [legacies] I Desire to Be Equally Devided Between my three children Peter and James and Penny Vendrick

I also appint My son James Vendrick and my Loving wife Mary Vendrick Executors to this my Last Will and testament

John (his mark) Vendrick

John’s mark is a large, rather blotchy looking, “I”.  Like there was too much ink on the quill tip.

The will was witnessed by Jesse Vendrick, who signed with an “X” mark, and Church Vendrick. It was proven in Court by the oath of Jesse Vendrick during the December Term, 1804.

Leave a Reply

