September Reads 2016

rosen_dressWell, I started off the month with a quick re-read of A Breath of Fresh Air by Amulya Malladi. I just couldn’t resist. And, yes, I cried. Again. I think this the fourth time I read this book and it always ends with me in tears. And wanting to beat Prakash into a bloody pulp.

Next I dived into Nine Women, One Dress by Jane L. Rosen. This was a fun read about the little black dress of the season from its creation, to its runway debut, through its life at Bloomingdale’s and beyond. And it’s about the nine women who wear it. All of the romances were predictable from the start and the adultery thing easy to figure out, but it remained a delightful little book. Though, maybe it’s because I live in the rural South, but the “cow in a cotton field” had me blinking at the page a few times, going “Why would a cow be in a cotton field?” 🙂

robb_apprenticeNext was the new Eve and Roarke! Forty-four books and they still haven’t gotten old. Even when the case is a little ho-hum, which this one isn’t, the characters make this series fun and addictive. I really wanted Eve, or Roarke, to kick Mackie’s Dr. Frankenstein wannabe ass. I know Eve did, metaphorically, but, though I enjoy a good metaphor, it doesn’t beat a fist in the face. Or knee to something more painful. One thing’s for sure, Omega has got to be an interesting place with both Rayleen and Will there. Fun times.

scot_macleanAfter that, I went on a bit of romance kick. First up, Sarah MacLean’s latest A Scot in the Dark. I liked Lillian quite a bit more than I did Sophie. She didn’t seem to have as big a case of RHIS (Romance Heroine Idiotic Syndrome). After the loneliness and neglect of her adolescence, it is understandable that she would fall for the first man, heck first person, to pay any attention to her at all. So what idiocy she does display, the man was an obvious ass after all, is understandable. Alec’s is not. Why did her believe that bitch? I don’t get it. Even when his childhood is explained it still didn’t justify his stubborn belief in her insults. It was annoying. But a fun read, nonetheless. I’m quite looking forward to Serafina’s story. Although I’m not sure how Ms. MacLean means to rehabilitate Haven. From what I remember of The Rogue Not Taken, he was another obvious ass, magnified and enhanced by ducal arrogance.

noble_gambleIn her newsletter, MacLean mentioned her Romance recommendations page. Curious, I checked it out. A few titles jumped out at me. One of them was The Game and the Governess by Kate Noble. I’m sorry to say I can’t echo Ms. MacLean. I ended up dropping it due to annoyance with the airhead hero. I have problems with the Bet Trope to begin with, but add in a space cadet and it was just, “No.” To give credit where it’s due, this was different. Usually it’s the heroine who’s the idiot. There are some other books on the list that have gone onto my TBR wish list: The Year We Fell Down by Sarina Bowen, For Real by Alexis Hall, Rock ~N~ Soul by Lauren Sattersby, Soul Song by Marjorie M. Liu, and The Bollywood Bride by Sonali Dev to name just a few.

kleypas_cold-heartedI finished the month with the first book in Lisa Kleypas’s Ravenels series, Cold-Hearted Rake. If you’ll remember, I read, and enjoyed, the second book, Marrying Winterbourne in July. First, would someone explain to me why the woman on the cover is wearing pink? Kathleen was a widow in deep mourning. It should have been a woman in an elaborately ruched black gown, complete with bustle, wearing a gorgeous autumn colored shawl. Anyway… I quite enjoyed this book. I wanted to smack Devon upside the head for being obtuse, but that’s par for the course. The next book, Devil in Spring, will be Pandora’s. That should be interesting, but what I’m really looking forward to is West’s story.

Leave a Reply

