The Discovery of Britty Swindell

In my post, Dixon Wives: Nancy Jane Daniels, I proposed that the parents of Nancy’s father, Isaiah, were Wilson Daniels and Prudence, his wife. My reasons for this were based on information gleaned from the 1850 and 1860 censuses. In 1860, the households of Isaiah and Wilson Daniels were contiguous, houses 246 and 247, respectively. Wilson, an apparent widower, was 63 and Isaiah was 38. Simple arithmetic leads one to the simple conclusion that they were father and son.

1860CravenCensus_Isaah&WilsonDaniels

The 1850 census gives us the name of Wilson’s wife, Prudence.

1850_WilsonDaniels_Craven

Although I’ve yet to find a document that states outright the relationship between these men, it seems self-evident.  But, as it turns out, the relationship between Isaiah and Prudence may have had little to do with blood (since  I don’t know Prudence’s maiden name, I can’t  discount some sort of blood tie).  You see, my friend, Google, led me to a discovery: The John Gray Blount Papers. Mr. Blount and his brother, Thomas, were merchants based in Washington, Beaufort County. On page 429 of Volume 4 (Internet Archive), there is a letter from William Higson, in Mattamuskeet (this is in Hyde County), to John Gray Blount, dated April 12, 1825:

JGB-4_HigsonLetter-p429

and further on:

JGB-4_HigsonLetter-p430

I was all agog, let me tell you! Just why the boys would need a guardian when their father was still living quite baffles me. Over to FamilySearch I went to glance through Hyde County estate records. From these, I learned that Henry Williamson died sometime before December 11, 1802 when the sale of his estate was held and a year’s provision was set aside for his widow, Ann.  There were two Swindells at the sale, Jonathan and Solomon. Which, if either, of these gentlemen was the husband of Fanny Williamson? Back to Google I went. It gave me an answer: Jonathan.  Proof of this is supposed to be contained within an 1802 deed in Hyde County, bur I can’t confirm this until I’m able to see for myself.  The search results also told me Jonathan left a will, dated 1847.

Clicking back to FamilySearch, a quick browse through the Beaufort County will books nets me the will of Johnathan Swindle:

Jonathan Swindell

July the 28 1847
this is my last will and testament
Britty daniels one dollar
my son isaac swndell one dollar
megattin swindell 50 acres of land begining on lintons line runing to [word that’s smudged but looks like] my middle bay gineing [joining?] Jerome Spain
Johnathan Swindell 50 acres of land begining on lintons line runing to middle bay gining gattin swindell
my daughter salina my house and plantation gining land 50 akers
the balance of my land to tomouse defoe [I think] swindell my grand Child
50 dollars to my son Joel Swindell is to Come out of my property
Joel Swindell execter to my property and Josiah Lupton

Johnathan Swindell [signed with a mark]

J. B. Spain
Stephen Mason [signed with a mark]

If you’ll remember, Isaiah had a daughter named Britannia who was called Britty. Can we get a Eureka!?

The will was probated in December 1847 by the oath of J. B. Spain and Joel Swindell qualified as Executor. There is an Estate folder for Jonathan in the CRX boxes in Raleigh. Maybe, one of these days, I’ll get around to viewing them. They’re not the only papers in those boxes I want to see, trust me.

So, we have Britannia “Britty” Swindell, daughter of Jonathan Swindell and Fanny Williamson married Wilson Daniels, probably about 1818 or 1819, in the Goose Creek area of Beaufort County.  Wilson Daniels appears on a tax list for the first time in 1819, in this area, with 1 white poll taxed at $0.55.  Britty’s father, Jonathan, also appears on this list with 50 acres valued at 50 with one white poll taxed at $0.66.

I have more about the Williamsonses and Swindells that I’ll post later.  Henry Williamson was an intriguing character!

Leave a Reply

