Will of John Swindell

the Name of God amen the 3rd Day of April 1775 I John Swindell of the County of Hyde and in the Province of North Carolina Being vary Sick in Body But of perfect memory thanks be to God therefore Calling to mind the Mortality of the Body I therefore make and ordain this my Last Will and Testament first of all I give my Soul into the hands of Almighty God and as for my Worldly Estate I give in manner following that is I give to my Executors so much of my goods and chattles as will pay all my Debts as I doe of Right Due to any Person.

Item: I give to my son Isaac one hundred acres of Land Lying on the south side of the Lake with one horse or mare and one gun and one bed and furniture

Item: I give to my son Josiah one hundred acres of land as by Deed Directed

Item: I give to my son Jesse one hundred acres of Land as by Deed Directed

Item: I give to my son Joseph one hundred acres of Land as by Deed Directed with one cow & calf

Item: I give to my wife Rebacker the house and plantation where I now live with fifty acres of Land to be hers [I think] During her natural Life and at her Deceas to fall to my son Joel to him and his arrs [heirs] for ever with one Cow and Calf and one horse or mare.

Item: I give to my Son Jobe one Cow and Calf and one horse or mair and one gun–

Item: I give to my son John one Cow and Calf and one horse or mair and one gun

Item: I give to my Daughter Ruth one Cow and Calf and one Bed and furniture

Item: I give to my Daughter Prudence one cow and Calf and one Bed and furniture

Item: I give to Daughter Rachal one cow an dCalf and one Bed and Furniture

Item: I give my son Jonathan one cow and Calf & my Will is that all the Rest of my Worly Estate within and without Shall be Equielly Devided between my Wife and my three youngest Sons and further that my Sons Isaac and my Son Josiah Shall be my Executors and I acknowledge this to be my Last Will and Testament wherefore I have Set my hand and Seal in the Presents of us

Joab Daniels
Shadrach Morris                                                              John Swindell

Hyde County – June Term 1775
This Will was proved in Court by the oath of Joab Daniels, ordered to be Recorded
Test Geo. Barrow Clk

Transcribed Dec 4 1899
from Record of Wills and Accounts
No 1 Page 163
R. D. Harris Clk

Leave a Reply

